Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-01-26 20:53:11

Eric Innis

Hello, I am Eric

Greetings,

My name is Eric.  I live in Atlanta, Georgia.  I am a vigorous student of Japanese martial arts, specifically Aikibujutsu, Aikido, and Shinkendo.  For a while now I have been interested in the Japanese bamboo flute.  I would like to try playing, but I discovered that the price of a flute is too high for something I am yet dedicated to.  It seems the price of flutes rivals the price of swords.  My first thought was to make my own -- I am mechanically inclined and a self made flute would be all the more significant.  However, I suspect that making a flute is something that takes a lifetime of dedication to master, and half a lifetime to become decent at (similar to forging a shinken). I understand there are plastic versions of the shakuhachi which must be cheaper.  But, being a traditionalist, the idea is not appealing.

What is your advice?

Thank you,

Eric Innis
Atlanta Budokan

#2 2007-01-26 22:06:28

edosan
Edomologist

Re: Hello, I am Eric

Welcome Eric!

Ah, the ancient dilemma: Bamboo or plastic smile

Non-traditional as it may be, a plastic shakuhachi is a humble but effective way to get your teeth (so to say) into the instrument.

A very useable flute can be made of PVC for pennies and a bit of sweat. Look here: http://www.fides.dti.ne.jp/~sogawa/englishpagepvc.html for a good start (also be sure to look at the maker's collection of bamboo shakuhachi here: http://www.fides.dti.ne.jp/~sogawa/englishpage3-1.html--click on the images for more details).

There is also a shakuhachi cast from plastic from a bamboo flute, and it works very well. It'll set you back 80-100 bucks US.
Take a look here: http://www.shakuhachiyuu.com/ This is a decent way to get started, without a big outlay. It is also