Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-02-12 17:10:37

daviddonaldson

Hello, my name is David Donaldson, and I am new to the world of the shakuhachi; as far as learning to make and play it.
I am 63 years old, and  have become fascinated with bamboo flutes in general, but have only played the Romanian style pan flute.

I have a source of green bamboo; it appears to be the type known as "multiplex", with joints nearly 24" long, and up to an inch and a half inside diameter.

I want to build a successful shakuhachi. I tried building one, and was reasonably successful in obtaining and sustaining a nice long single tone. As the bamboo was yet too fresh, I attempted to hasten the cure by flaming it with a torch. After heating it for a while to drive out moisture, I retuned the mouthpiece and still had a pretty good tone. But alas! As I drilled the finger holes the flute split. I believe that I got it too dried out and it became brittle. I bound it with dacron strands used in building bow strings, but the resonance is now lost.  Can someone point me in the right direction where can I obtain some pieces of cured bamboo that is suitable for flute building?

Thank you so much for allowing me to come aboard with the much more learned than I.
David Donaldson

#2 2007-02-12 18:07:37

kyoreiflutes
Website

Re: New member

Welcome to the Forum!

Where do you hail from?

-Eddie

"The Universe does not play favorites, and is not fair by its very Nature; Humans, however, are uniquely capable of making the world they live in fair to all."    - D.E. Lloyd

"Any man's death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to know for whom the bells tolls; it tolls for thee."    -John Donne

#3 2007-02-12 18:55:48

daviddonaldson

Pensacola not always sunny Florida...

David

#4 2007-02-12 19:05:11

kyoreiflutes
Website