Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-03-06 01:37:12

Furiousgeorge

Shakuhachi and Tai Chi

I wasn't quite sure where to put this, but since it pertains to the shaku's effect on the body and energy, I figured this was as good a place as any.

Now I am a novice at best at tai chi (chen style), but I am a dedicated practitioner of chen, as well as a few styles of kung fu and a basic understanding of tae kwon do as it pertains to sparring. Having only blown a shakuhachi for the first time yesterday morning, I could not be newer to that discipline, so if what I have to say sounds a bit rough and unformed, that's because it is.

Immediately upon trying out a shakuhachi for the first time (more specifically on first sound) I was blown away by the simplicity of the breath involved. Blowing hard in several different fashions got me nowhere for a few minutes before I half sighed and got my first note. It was through this and several more minutes of clumsy fumbling that I came to a realization: the shaku breath is not only akin to the tai chi breath, it's practically identical. My friend, teacher (and far more capable tai chi practitioner) was with me and experienced the same thought as he produced some far nicer sounds. I bought the shaku on which i made my first note, and have been playing it constantly since. I have been blown away by its depth; both musically and meditatively. I began to discover embrouchure (an entirely foreign concept to me, having never played a woodwind), and the necessity of good posture for good breath. The more I discovered the more I drew parralels to the martial arts.