Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-03-24 10:35:13

GingerR

Hi, all I am looking for a direction.....

In the past, I was a traditional flute student for many years, and studied at Peabody in Baltimore for a while. I can no longer play the traditional flute due to Carpal Tunnel in both hands. I have lost my fine motor coordination.

At one point about 20 years ago, I bought and played a Shakuhachi for about a year until it was stolen, and I couldn't afford to replace it. (I just played it, no training, couldn't find any books, but, did find a CD and learned to play some of the music)

OK, the point of all of this is, I am feeling the need to play again, and I want to buy one, but, don't know which one, and I am looking for a teacher.

Thank you for your time.

Ginger

Ginger

And GOD* said: "BE NICE"
(*all of them)

#2 2007-03-24 16:44:49

D.J.

Re: Hi, all I am looking for a direction.....

Contact Perry Yung at yungflutes@yahoo.com. He is a most gracious person and will be of great help to you with genuinly caring guidance. His site is: http://www.yungflutes.com/html_pages/contact_page.html

Contact info is on that page. There is a reason you feel the need to get back into this. Don't give it up!

D.J.

Last edited by D.J. (2007-03-24 16:45:20)

"Manifest great deeds by breaking the rules."
Awa Kenzo - Zen Archery Master
"If you think that you are a teacher, then you have failed to realize that learning comes from the student."
Kiko Aratsu

#3 2007-03-24 16:47:46

Tairaku 太楽
Administrator/Performer
Website

I believe Ronnie Nyogetsu Seldin gives lessons in Baltimore on a monthly basis. www.nygetsu.com he is an excellent teacher.

'Progress means simplifying, not complicating' : Bruno Munari

http://www.myspace.com/tairakubrianritchie

#4 2007-03-24 16:49:40

D.J.