Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-05-25 19:04:15

Arjay

Hello from Atlanta, GA

Hey there! I saw someone else was using "RJ," so I went with the phonetic version here. I hope it doesn't offend. If so, I'll get a new name, no worries.

I'm new to the shakuhachi, only having very recently discovered what "that flute! That flute right there!" is called, and since then amassing a grand total of three albums of the music. But my interest is deep enough that I've decided to make my own flute now, or at least try to do so with what resources I have available. I've done a bit of study online, but this site looks like a seriously helpful place to look for good information.

The flute I'm attempting to build right now is of Golden bamboo, which is surprisingly common here in Georgia, though I know it isn't traditional. I harvested what I believe is an ideal piece - rescued, so to speak, from some unknown people who'd been hacking up bits of bamboo from the grove in a nearby park (probably kids, as there was a little bamboo "fort" nearby). It is surprisingly hearty and thick-walled for its kind, of suitable diameter and with a nice crook on the end that I quite like.

Anyhow, the bamboo has been harvested, the roots trimmed-down, aburanuki done and now it's sitting out in the sunshine. When the time comes, down the road, I'll do the really complex part. When that time does come, I hope to know much more about what I'm doing thanks to the people on this site and whatever other resources are out there.

Sorry to ramble on; I'm quite bad about it sometimes. But I'm very happy to be here, with so many respected master players and builders. I look forward to reading even more in these forums, and will try not to ask questions that have already been answered. smile

#2 2007-05-25 19:51:47

dstone
Website

Re: Hello from Atlanta, GA