Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2005-12-16 15:27:02

kyoreiflutes
Website

Vibrato: how do YOU do it?

While I'm still relatively new to flutes, I'm wondering something.

Do all of you make Vibrato by shaking your head up and down (or side to side) when playing, or do some of you still make the vibrato in your breath, like a singer?

I'm fighting myself, trying to train my lungs to NOT do anything but blow, and let my head do all the vibrato. It's really hard to relax your breath like that, though. It's also hard to not "slip off" the note sometimes.

Sometimes, I also kind of "shake" the flute with my right hand; this gives me good vibrato at times, but sometimes cuts the note off if I'm not careful.

It seems like the best vibrato I can get, the most controlled, the most passionate, is from my lungs, but I'm not sure I'm getting my full amount of air that way, you know? I know that doing it that way isn't "tradtional", as well, but I"m not sure what a no-no it is.

Any tips, advice, suggestions?

-Eddie
Kyorei Flutes

"The Universe does not play favorites, and is not fair by its very Nature; Humans, however, are uniquely capable of making the world they live in fair to all."    - D.E. Lloyd

"Any man's death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to know for whom the bells tolls; it tolls for thee."    -John Donne

#2 2005-12-16 23:21:15

steven

Re: Vibrato: how do YOU do it?

Great question, Eddie's not the only one interested in this. My vibrato is really not refined at all and consequently I rarely employ it - which is a big gap in my playing.

Steven

#3 2005-12-17 00:16:34

edosan
Edomologist

Regarding vibrato: