Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2005-12-22 05:53:15

Alex

Traditional learning

Hello everybody,

I started learning Shakuhachi a few months ago and I have been reading all sorts of things about what you should do when you start and what you shouldn't do. I've heard for example that in the traditional way of learning you shouldn't play Honkyoku for so many years, you shouldn't use vibrato for another amount and so on.

I took Shakuhachi as a life long experience and I'm not much in a hurry to learn new pieces, challenging techniques and so on, I just play one sankyoku piece and I think is much more than I can handle. My question is, can anybody tell me which are the steps to learn in a traditional way? I mean, what should I focus first, getting a big sound? a small sound? different tone colours? finger dexterity? good meris and karis? And what should I avoid, vibrato?, alternative fingerings?, other techniques? And, what should I accomplish first to move to a different phase in my learning? The thing is I don't have so much time to practice so I don't want to be doing too many things at the same time and not been able to do anything properly.

It's not that I just want to play traditional music but in my opinion if they have taught like that for many years it must have a reason. On the other hand I also thing it's important to approach any instrument with your own understanding but for that I reckon no teacher can help.

Well, hope someone can help me out a bit. I guess it's difficult to give concrete answers; anyway, a reflection on what I mention above from a experienced player would be of a lot of help.   

Thanks a lot and happy days for all

Alex