Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-09-08 13:24:40

BrianP
Website

Abdominal Cramps

Has anyone here ever experienced lower abdominal cramping form extended practice sessions?  It seems since I have started practicing for long periods that I am getting pains in my lower abdomen similar to the feeling you get when you are really hungry.  I was just curious if this was common or if I am straining too much on the outbreaths etc.

Thanks,

Brian

The Florida Shakuhachi Camp
http://www.floridashakuhachi.com
Brian's Shakuhachi Blog
http://gaijinkomuso.blogspot.com

#2 2007-09-08 20:15:23

radi0gnome
Website

Re: Abdominal Cramps

Hi, I'm not a pro but I'm a bit concerned over what you are saying. Not only have I never experienced abdominal cramps from playing any kind flute or even didjeridu where you're even more likely to do unusual things with your abs, I've never experienced abdominal cramps from being very hungry either. While it's not unreasonable that something your doing with your breathing might cause abdominal cramps, my concern is that you might have some kind of health issue going on. You might want to think about checking with a medical professional before dismissing abdominal cramps as being the result of playing shakuhachi.

"Now birds record new harmonie, And trees do whistle melodies;
Now everything that nature breeds, Doth clad itself in pleasant weeds."
~ Thomas Watson - England's Helicon ca 1580

#3 2007-09-08 20:37:40

Yungflutes
Flutemaker/Performer
Website

Hi Brian, I agree with Radiognome, I would check it out with a doctor if it persists.