Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-10-13 17:53:09

badoumba

New member from Norway

Hi everybody.

I live in Norway - Stavanger, the oil city! I have a Master Degree in Ethnomusicology and I mainly work on Asian jew's harps. Around 7 years ago, I met Antonio Olias (http://www.shakuhachi-flute.org/) during a jew's harp festival. I didn't know everything before about shakuhachi. He lend me a flute for 2 years and the complete honkyoku score repertory. I took some lessons with Daniel Lifermann ( student of Iwamoto and Fukuda ). I am able now to play some of them quite good ( Tamuke, Azuma jishi, Yugure no kyoku, Sanan are one of my favorite ). As I can't afford to buy an instrument at the moment ( I spend so much money in others for my researches ) I decided 2 years ago to learn how to build it. I play now with my own jiari instruments. They are not perfect but enougth for the level I play!

So I can give advices and tips for building decent shakuhachi and playing techniques of honkyoku.

As an ethnomusicologist, I play many other instruments for which you can of course ask me some tips in private mail out of this forum ( jew's harps - dholak - iranian ney - rawanahatta - kazakh dombra )

Ha det bra!

#2 2007-10-14 07:44:09

philthefluter
Website

Re: New member from Norway

Welcome to the forum. It is great to see the European community of players and makers grow. I am also a maker and ethnomusicologist. Make sure to join the http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/Euroshak/ European Shakuhachi discussion group. There will be various shakuhachi events taking place all over Europe next summer. I hope we will get the change to meet and compare notes! Phil from Ireland.

"The bamboo and Zen are One!" Kurosawa Kinko
http://www.shakuhachizen.com/
http://www.myspace.com/shakuhachizen

#3 2007-10-15 04:16:21

Kiku Day
Shakuhachi player, teacher and ethnomusicologist