Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-10-19 14:14:01

robert

New maker from Portland

I am a practicing Zen Buddhist and I am a luthier. My former shop mate makes shakuhachi flutes so I am now on the path to building my first. I have Monty Levinson's book on building on the way. I am off to a local bamboo grower to see about bamboo stock. Any help on getting the correct bamboo would certinally be appreciated. I am looking foreward to making sounds with my first.
Peace,
Robert

#2 2007-10-19 15:22:51

nyokai
shihan
Website

Re: New maker from Portland

Welcome!
Oregon or Maine?

#3 2007-10-20 13:11:25

Mujitsu
Administrator/Flutemaker
Website

robert wrote:

I am a practicing Zen Buddhist and I am a luthier. My former shop mate makes shakuhachi flutes so I am now on the path to building my first.

Welcome Robert,

Hard, dense culms are usually best. Including the root end will give you the advantage of a tapered bore.

Here are some other bamboo possibilities:

An economical way to start making shakuhachi while developing your sound is to use tonkin bamboo. These hard, dense culms can make surprisingly nice shakuhachi. They are available at many nurseries and online bamboo warehouses. Look for culms cut as close to the ground as possible.

Chinese root bamboo is also inexpensive and can make decent shakuhachi. Various grades are available online.

If you want to go right into Japanese Madake, Mejiro in Japan will ship specific sizes to you. Sometimes, makers have extra culms to sell. But not always!

Good luck!

Ken

#4 2007-10-20 16:26:10

robert

Ooops. Portland, Oregon.