Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-11-23 10:15:37

marilena

what how where.. shakuhachi

hello everybody,

this is my first post and i need your advice..

I am a newbie in shakuhachi practice and indeed i need to buy my first. Now.. I am a classical music professional, though i quit that career years ago to pursue other interests of mine. I graduated in flute at the Conservatory in italy (then played in ensambles and orchestras while graduating in physics, then found out that the two were not sustainable at the same time and quit the musical career to graduate in quantum physics).
I am now doing a PhD in Philosophy of Science in London and I will move to san diego in January as a visiting fellow at UCSD. I have the strongest commitment to finally go back to what was a very early love of mine, the shakuhachi. When in rome I wrote a dissertation on Japanese music and was auditing concerts at the japanese institute, but it is only recently, after my training as a gestalt counselor and my practice in zen meditation that i finally found the resolution to let this early passion blossom, and it is an important decision for me.