Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-12-14 10:51:18

Jean

Shakuhachi addict

Before I was someone normal. A nice guy. I had a normal family with two children and an office work quite normal in a Swiss bank nothing could be more normal.

Then one day I discovered the shakuhachi. Since I can no longer pause to play. And this has still got worse these last days since I received my Perry Yung's new flutes.

In brief, as soon as I return at home the evening after a long day of hard labor, I jump on my shakuhachi and I cannot stop any more playing. As I am a beginner, sometimes I do not play a particular piece but I satisfy simply with blowing RO Buki or Sasa Buki.

I go out of this state of  bliss only to the repeated calls by my dear wife and of my adorable toddlers who demand my warm presence with them.

As soon as I stop playing I feel in a state of lack. A bit like a drug addict who is missing her dose. (I say it like that, because in reality I never drugged, except occasionally some Bombay Sapphire martinis wink In fact, I feel a kind of emptiness in the middle of the chest, a need to continue to blow in the shakuhachi. Lack which may last an hour or two. Insuportable.

As the days are long and endless before returning to my sweet home. I now took at the office my shakuhachi Yuu, which I hid in the drawer of my desk, and during breaks rather than going drinking coffee with my colleagues I take this opportunity to blow some single tones. I think I caught the shakuhachi virus. Is serious Doctor?

Jean

#2 2007-12-14 14:11:36

Marc
Website

Re: Shakuhachi addict

Jean,

As Monty told me a couple of years ago, "You've got a bad case of shakuhachi-itis. There's no cure for that."

Creative activity could be described as a type of learning process where teacher and pupil are located in the same individual.

--Arthur Koestler

#3 2007-12-14 23:54:49

nomaD43

Jean,