Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-01-02 18:21:56

chuck091956
Website

Ro-Buki Thoughts and New Players

I've been playing Shakuhachi pretty much by my self for about 3 years. I've only had a couple lessons in person and then some across the internet. I was also able to get to the Rockies Shakuhachi camp this summer.

I've not had much luck moving beyond the level that I'm currently at. I play for about 30 to 45 minutes most days but again no solid lasting growth.

Recently I took a step back and started adding more Ro-Buki into my playing. This seemed to help and along with that I recorded the proper Ro pitch to listen to as I do Ro-Buki. Actually I do Buki on many notes. I've got the Shakuhachi sound meter and a handle held pitch meter for when I'm away from my desk.

I've found the forcing of my self to play to the correct pitch has helped my ambuture with has allowed me to play longer, stronger and on pitch. I think this has been because of my lack time to be able to play with other Shakuhachi players. This same reason is why I seemed to have made large strides and improvements in my play at the Shakuhachi summer camp.

There is probably many new players who struggle with their growth. This just reinforces the need to good one-on-one training.

Just my thoughts,
Best wishes to all in this new year,
Chuck Peck

Chuck Peck

#2 2008-02-07 20:39:40

Ryuzen
Dokyoku (Daishihan); Zensabo
Website

Re: Ro-Buki Thoughts and New Players

21-Day RO-buki Challenge

The rules are simple:

1. One point is scored for each day that you blow RO on shakuhachi. (Go to www.bamboo-in.com/about-us/articles.htm) to read about how to practice RO Buki.)
2. In order to qualify, each blowing session needs to be at least 15 minutes long.
3. The Challenge lasts for 21 days.

Each of you is asked to choose your own level of commitment:

Level 1: Minimum of 15 minutes each day.