Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-01-25 19:15:46

taikoflutist

Hello.

My name is Alexa and I am a taiko player in Santa Fe, NM. I played clarinet as a kid and I still dig it out every now and then and toot a bit. We already have a fue player in our little taiko group, and I never cared for the transverse flute when I was younger (too girly, at least that's how I saw it back then) and I thought I'd look into shakuhachi as a Japanese vertical equivalent. Shows what I know about shakuhachi. Nothing!

So I've read Ray Brooks "Blowing Zen" and I've been getting more and more into Buddhism and the spirituality of Japanese folk music as my taiko experience grows (I've been playing for a little over 4 years now) and I've been listening to some honkyoku cds (I have Ray Brooks', Stan Richardson's and another one with a picture of a monk raking a zen garden on the front) and my boyfriend took notice of my explorations and got me a really simple bamboo shakuhachi for my birthday a week ago (I'm 29 now). It took me 4 days to be able to consistently form an embouchure that got a sound out of it (no offense, but I had to aim for a jug style of playing where my lower lip became half of the mouth of the jug, it's just how I thought about it and it ended up working), and I can get two notes out of it so far, completely open and with the thumb hole covered. I've enjoyed just breathing with it, making a note, pausing, making a note again. It's a neat instrument and humbling, much more difficult than clarinet. I think I'm just poking around for the moment, trying it out, playing, being challenged. I see there isn't anybody really near me to learn from and I don't have the set-up for internet lessons, but I'm not sure I'm ready for that anyway, mentally, I mean, or financially, or in terms of my schedule. And I'm on my own as far as taiko is concerned anyway, so I'm not anxio