Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-03-15 20:17:45

madoherty

Hello.

I am a composer, performer (mainly of woodwinds, but not only), and instrument builder, who lives in Colorado, USA.  I recently have begun to turn my sites toward the shakuhachi.  I have very recently, as in it is in the mail, purchased my first shakuhachi from Perry Yung, and also have begun trying my hand at making one.

I will be looking for a teacher, looks like Boulder will be my best bet.

My music in recent years has been experimentation with silence, "ma", and I am planing on working with the shakuhachi in this regard.  My other musical interests rest in various corners of the world, Japan (hichiriki - gagaku), Armenia (duduk, bloul and folk music), Turkey (ney and sufi music), Ancient Puebloan Flutes, etc.

Just a hello, a shout out.

Breathe deeply and broadly,
Michael

#2 2008-03-16 06:22:56

Marcelo Kaneta
Website

Re: New Member

Hi welcome!

I'm a new player too and I love ancient instruments like you!
So you like gagaku! I think its incredible!
Do you have a hichiriki? I was looking for some instructions trying to make one with my friends.
Keep breathing! Shakuhachi is a long way and its a good way!

"The long journey reveals the depth of one’s faith."

#3 2008-03-16 09:27:26

Yungflutes
Flutemaker/Performer
Website

Re: New Member

madoherty wrote:

Hello.

I am a composer, performer (mainly of woodwinds, but not only), and instrument builder, who lives in Colorado, USA.  I recently have begun to turn my sites toward the shakuhachi.  I have very recently, as in it is in the mail, purchased my first shakuhachi from Perry Yung, and also have begun trying my hand at making one.

I will be looking for a teacher, looks like Boulder will be my best bet.