Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-04-19 00:00:16

yair89

Hello from Amherst, MA

Hello lovely members of the Shakuhachi forum,

My name is Yair and I am a beginning Shakuhachi player.  I am currently studying my undergraduate degree in Amherst.  I began playing this past Wednesday evening (4/16/08).  The experience was a fascinating one in itself.  A great shakuhachi player, Perry Yung, performed in my "Lively Arts" class.  He played for us and explained how a shakuhachi can be made for under 25 cents by constructing it out of PVC pipes.  He brought out the pipe he had prepared and asked for volunteers to drill the holes.  I volunteered, drilled the holes, and then volunteered again when he asked if anyone wanted to try to play it.  I came up to try, for the first time in my life, to play the shakuhachi and he showed me how to play it by playing it himself, and then gave me some beginner's tips (smile, take a deep breath).  I got some notes out of it, and he later insisted that I join this forum and post this story, as he was so amazed that I had been able to play it so quickly, especially in front of an audience.  He said that I was probably the first one to ever play the shakuhachi for their first time in front of an audience.

With this story I would still like to humbly introduce myself and say that I understand the practice that the shakuhachi requires.  I have been practicing every morning since (there have been only two so far) and have been thoroughly enjoying it.

I am very happy to say that I have found my instrument..

Also, I have not yet designed a signature line, so please excuse any that appears.

Yair

#2 2008-04-19 00:44:09

amokrun

Re: Hello from Amherst, MA

Welcome to the forum. Always nice to see new people.

yair89 wrote: