Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-05-31 15:20:07

Ninjabathy

Advice please - do I need a more expensive, root-end shakuhachi?

Hi everyone.  I'm new to this forum, and to shakuhachi.  I must firts apologise - this is a duplicate posting; I posted in misc. under rootend 1.8 for under £300, which I realised after naming the subject that I may be misleading.  Sorry.

I have a lot of experience with other instruments (guitar, violin and ocarina), and have previously played a £10 Xiao a fiar bit because I wanted a nice meditative sound like I'd heard in Asian cinema; I liked the breathy, bamboo qualities.  My Xiao wasn't very good, so I looked into it and eventually bought myself a 1.8 Earth Shakuhachi from Perry Yung a week ago.  I'm off work due to illness (my lungs collapsed), so I've had plenty of time to play about and feel I am (already!!) not so bad.  I can play easily in 2 octaves (my transition between the 2 in speedy passages is still a little wobbly!), and I feel I have really made a spiritual bond with the instrument; I love it to bits and I know I have found a new life-long friend in it.