Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-07-20 14:20:13

cshimmin

A lost shakuhachi player would like direction!

Greetings from Japan! Let me tell you about myself and the extraordinary events that have led me to encounter shakuhachi!!

Well, I am a physics student at UC Berkeley in California. This summer, I got a research job through the university, located Japan.
Coming to Japan, I knew pretty much nothing about Japanese music. However, I am a banjo player, and someone told me about a strange banjo-ish instrument from Japan called Shamisen. Immediately I checked it out on youtube and fell in love. So when I first arrived here (a few months ago), I set out looking for a Shamisen to buy.

Now, it happens that I have a friend from Berkeley who grew up near my location in Japan, so I asked him where I could obtain one. He asked his mother, and her friend ended up just giving me one. I was dumbfounded, speechless, but filled with such happiness and excitement! What's more, the benefactor is a shamisen instructor, and invited me to a class at held at the local middle school, in addition to her personal lessons. I took her up on the middle school lessons just for the interesting cultural exchange, and very interesting it was.

At these school lessons, there was one instructor who always played the melodies out on a strange bamboo flute. At the end of the shamisen lesson, I asked what it was, and he told me. You guessed it, shakuhachi. He asked if I wanted to try, and so I did. Now, I play many instruments: guitar, banjo, mandolin, oboe, bassoon, clarinet, flute, the list goes on. Never have I encountered an instrument that I simply cannot make a sound out of!!! Yet, there I was, blowing my lungs out for almost half an hour, to no avail!