Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-09-27 21:11:40

Austin Shadduck
Website

Fuke Zen --> Fukeshu

I am trying to get a better grasp of the history between the emergence of Fuke Zen to the disbanding of the komuso and the Fukeshu in 1871, and I have a few questions. I am new to this so I appreciate any help in setting my ideas straight! From what I understand, the practice of suizen (or meditating through the shakuhachi) is what distinguishes Fuke Zen from other sects of Zen Buddhism. This idea of playing the shakuhachi as a path to enlightenment can be traced back to the poetry of Zen priest Ikkyû Zenji (1394-1482); the literature describes wandering priests who played shakuhachi and it describes the meditative properties of the instrument (Blasdel and Lee). According to legend, Rôan, friend of Ikkyû, is potentially the first of these wandering priests that became known as komoso by at least the first half of the 16th century. What I am confused about is the contribution of Shinchi Kakushin (1207–1298) to Fuke Zen. In another post on this site I found the following link:

http://zen.rinnou.net/whats_zen/history.html

On the website is says, "Kakushin is regarded as the founder of the influential Hotto 法燈 (also Hatto) line of Rinzai Zen and of the Japanese Fuke school 普化宗, a tradition of largely lay practicers who wandered about the country playing the shakuhachi 尺八, a bamboo flute whose music was regarded as an aid to enlightenment."

The site places the beginnings of the Fuke sect in Japan back about 100 years to 1254. I haven't seen any mention of this in Dr. Lee's thesis, except in regards to the origin of the "original" Fuke sect temple. Is this info just mythology as far as we know?