Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-03-03 03:09:06

John Roff

Labyrinths and Shakuhachi

Although not strictly a 'Zen' meditation topic, I am very drawn to labyrinths. It occurred to me that a shakuhachi could be a great companion on a labyrinth, and I just wondered whether anyone on the forum has tried this.

Some ideas I have are playing at the start, perhaps at certain key places, and at at the centre. Then again to end.

Comments welcome.

John

'Concepts create idols; only wonder grasps anything.' - Gregory of Nyssa

#2 2006-03-03 16:41:15

rpowers

Re: Labyrinths and Shakuhachi

John Roff wrote:

Some ideas I have are playing at the start, perhaps at certain key places, and at at the centre. Then again to end.

Comments welcome.

John

I had thought about this myself, but by the time I started playing shakuhachi, I didn't have a labyrinth to walk. Then I happened upon a very discreet labyrinth in a city plaza , and pulled out the flute to try the combination. I personally didn't feel that it added much; I have learned to be much more focused when I play than I ever was while walking the path. Try it when you have the chance; you might like it more than I did.

My take on the labyrinth itself is probably different from yours. I don't think of it as having distinct "places" along the way; to me it is a continuum. I would like to be able to take a deep inhalation, then exhale slowly and evenly until I reach the center. At the center, I would fill my lungs again and exhale myself back out of the labyrinth. I can't do that, and you probably can't either. If you have a long enough piece you can play by memory, you might try to enter the path as you begin, and let the last note die out as you reach the center.

Rich

"Shut up 'n' play . . . " -- Frank Zappa
"Gonna blow some . . ." -- Junior Walker
"It's not the flute." -- Riley Lee

#3 2006-08-10 15:36:22