Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2008-12-01 14:24:19

harlequin

Making my first shakuhachi.

I have been a woodworker for years and I worked building pipe organs for 3 or 4 years and have built my share of  guitars, hammer dulcimers and penny whistles but this will be my first attempt at building a shakuhachi. I found a near perfect culm and dug it up. I learned an important lesson when I cut it to length which is to score the bamboo before cutting it. It splintered and the splintering went down toward the root end across the top node for about 3 inches. I also cut another piece from the same culm to make a nakatsuki. My question is, should I attempt to make a two piece shakuhachi or, since this is my first attempt at making a shakuhachi, should I just live with the flaw. It is such a nice piece of bamboo with incredible root figuring that I hate to chuck it. So here are my options:
1. I could use the piece as a learning tool and work around the flaw.
2. I could make a nakatsuki.
3. I could make a one piece shakuhachi with a solid joint
4. Find a new piece of bamboo and go from there.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.

#2 2008-12-01 15:16:08

Mujitsu
Administrator/Flutemaker
Website

Re: Making my first shakuhachi.

harlequin wrote:

1. I could use the piece as a learning tool and work around the flaw.
2. I could make a nakatsuki.
3. I could make a one piece shakuhachi with a solid joint
4. Find a new piece of bamboo and go from there.

Hi Shawn,

Welcome to the shakuhachi.

I think what to do depends on you.