World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-04-11 00:30:39

evan kubota

PVC shakuhachi problems...

I put together a PVC model last night following these instructions:

http://www.konkle.com/shakuhachi/the_sh … cflute.gif

The lowest note sounds fine but it gets progressively harder to get a sound as I remove fingers. Since I'm also completely new to playing shakuhachi I have no idea if it's my 'craftsmanship' or my technique. The bore of the pipe I used is larger than 3/4", FWIW - it's more like 7/8". The pipe is has thinner walls than that specified in the plan. I made my holes a little over 1/4" diameter.

One thing that I'm not sure about is the utaguchi design - how critical is the angle of the cut and the amount that the crescent shape protrudes into the body?

Assuming my flute is reasonably well made, how can I bring out the sound for higher notes (no fingers or 1 or 2)?

It's also pretty tiring to play - again, not sure if this is the larger bore or my technique. Would the higher notes require a greater air velocity to produce a given sound level?

#2 2006-04-11 07:49:09

sakurashakuhachi

Re: PVC shakuhachi problems...

evan kubota wrote:

I put together a PVC model last night following these instructions:

http://www.konkle.com/shakuhachi/the_sh … cflute.gif

The lowest note sounds fine but it gets progressively harder to get a sound as I remove fingers. Since I'm also completely new to playing shakuhachi I have no idea if it's my 'craftsmanship' or my technique. The bore of the pipe I used is larger than 3/4", FWIW - it's more like 7/8". The pipe is has thinner walls than that specified in the plan. I made my holes a little over 1/4" diameter.

One thing that I'm not sure about is the utaguchi design - how critical is the angle of the cut and the amount that the crescent shape protrudes into the body?