Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2009-06-29 05:08:37

Worship Flutist

New to the Shakuhachi

Hi Friends,
               I have just joined the Shakuhachi forum and look forward to learning much here as I am very new to the Shakuhachi. I have been playing rimblown flutes such as the Anasazi for a while and I make a few of these as a hobby.. I have also been playing the Native American flute for a number of years as well as the trombone (wow lot of difference there). Any how I look forward to lots of great things here as I know the shakuhachi is a wonderful instrument. I am also looking for my first shakuhachi and would appreciate any guidance here and I could possibly do a trade if someone wold be interested in the Native American flute as I have a large collection of them as well as the Anasazi !  Thanks So Much        Mike

#2 2009-06-29 05:11:15

Tairaku 太楽
Administrator/Performer
Website

Re: New to the Shakuhachi

I might trade you something for an Anasazi, I am a bit curious about that.

'Progress means simplifying, not complicating' : Bruno Munari

http://www.myspace.com/tairakubrianritchie

#3 2009-06-29 06:18:10

Yungflutes
Flutemaker/Performer
Website

Hi Mike, Welcome to the Forum!
Enjoy the reads.

Some shakuhachi flutes can sound like a trombone! wink

I'm joking of course. In a nut shell, there are basically two kinds of shakuhachi: a natural bore flute (the original temple flutes) or a completely fabricated bore, modern instrument. Then there's a variety in between. The Fabricated bore is usually a louder and faster instrument and the natural bore is usually mellower and less balanced in dynamics. But, there are always exceptions and many flute cross over since these are handmade instruments. You can read this thread to get an idea of how we feel about our flutes:

http://www.shakuhachiforum.com/viewtopic.php?id=54