Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2009-08-30 20:43:29

Zakarius

Living & working in Japan...

After 7 years of teaching English as a second language here in Taiwan, I think I'm about ready to leave (the heat & humidity are getting to me more and more). In part due to my strong interest in shakuhachi, I'm considering Japan to be my next stop, especially Hokkaido. I've read a bit about the JET Programme and it doesn't really sound like it's for me -- I have no experience nor interest in teaching young children and would rather make half as much money working a 20-hour week with plenty of time to enjoy my life.

I haven't found much information on getting working visas outside of the JET Programme but I'm hoping some of you in Japan right now (or in the past few years) might shed some light on this issue for me. Anything you may offer will be greatly appreciated.

Zak

塵も積もれば山となる -- "Chiri mo tsumoreba yama to naru." -- Piled-up specks of dust become a mountain.

#2 2009-08-31 02:37:57

Justin
Shihan/Maker
Website

Re: Living & working in Japan...

Hi Zak
I have no experience about getting a visa for teaching English, though I do know some English teachers here. There are websites with jobs offered. I would think a good way would be to search for jobs on the net for the area you are wanting to live in, then phone the companies and ask them if they will arrange the visa for you with the job.

For help on how to search for a job or which website might be recommended, you might like to search or post on a forum such as this:
http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quedisplay.html

Good luck

Last edited by Justin (2009-08-31 02:40:40)

#3 2009-08-31 19:54:24

Zakarius

Thanks for the reply, Justin. Another member has also contacted me through emails and had some valuable tips to offer me. I've included a few below:

anonymous wrote: