Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

• Index
  •  » Practice
  •  » need suggestions - what would be the best learning book for me?

#1 2009-09-29 09:19:55

Itamar Foguel
Website

need suggestions - what would be the best learning book for me?

Ive been learning bohem flute for about 9 years and that makes it about 14 years (maybe even more) of Bohem flute playing(and some fooling around with Tin Whistle). I would like you to suggest me a good learning book for that level. I can get decent sound out of my home made bamboo shakuhachi (well i might get a yuu when ill be able to afford it) and reach almost 2 full octaves.
I can fool around and improvise but i would like to get forword with it. I would get lessons, but the thing is that i gona start really intense first year at the university in 2 weeks so I guess ill be kind of short on both money and cash this year.
So, for that reason, i think a book would be best for now... and i will see where to go on later.

If the book will include detailed Shakuhachi crafting guide that would be also great, since im really into crafting my own flutes as well
I read that "Blowing zen" has both but it lakes with the cd autio part so would that still be the best book for me to get?
(and also posible online shops to get it and compare prices and shipment if you know of any)
Thanks

Last edited by Itamar Foguel (2009-09-29 09:23:00)

#2 2009-09-29 12:19:41

edosan
Edomologist

Re: need suggestions - what would be the best learning book for me?

fouw wrote:

[by the way, if it is only gonna be one book, don't we all agree by now the book by Christopher Blasdel is the one to get?]

Hmmm, so 'we' can assume that you've tried ALL the books, and that is your final assessment?  smile

I'd agree, that as far as books go, Chris' is better than most. Nothin' about makin' 'em in it, though.

Zen is not easy.