Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-05-10 10:44:56

KenC

Sound, playability differences.

I didn;t wish to hijack Geni's thread so thought i'd post this new one along a like question.

I've been playing with a Yuu for 3-4 months and recently started seeing a teacher.  Last week she gave me a Mejiro Hardwood Kinko Shakuhachi Mon to try out.  I noticed some interesting things and would be interested in comments.

Firtsly i noticed i seem to get more volume from the Yuu.  The Mon seems to handle my "range" better in that i can play a much better Sasa Buki  and, and i seem to be able to Meri better with the Mon. The Yuu, more volume but harder to get the softer lows. 

It's taken a few days to get used to the Mon and it seems it has forced me to improve my Embrouche.  I was having to vent the thumb hole (on the Yuu) to get a decent Kan but after playing the Mon for a while i seem to be able to get Ro, Tsu, and Re in Kan much better without the "trick".

One physical difference i notice is bore on the blowing end on the Yuu seems larger in diameter than the Mon. The shape and effective  edge of the Utaguchi seem smaller also(Mon).

Are these typical of the differences one finds? 

Ken

#2 2006-05-29 19:12:29

Karmajampa
Website

Re: Sound, playability differences.

I am making my own flutes from black bamboo, a relatively softer bamboo and consequently a sound perhaps described as 'blunt' or 'less crisp', or less resonance, but still a lovely sound.