Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-03-05 22:30:12

geminishadow79

Teachers in Maine

unfortunetly I have recently found myself without a teacher, and I'm wondering if anyone knows of any other teachers Maine.

#2 2010-03-12 20:54:28

Polly Armstrong

Re: Teachers in Maine

I, too, am without a teacher in Maine.  Any news of Phil James at this point?

#3 2010-03-13 00:46:19

edosan
Edomologist

Polly Armstrong wrote:

I, too, am without a teacher in Maine.  Any news of Phil James at this point?

http://homegrown-hope.blogspot.com/

Zen is not easy.
It takes effort to attain nothingness.
And then what do you have?
Bupkes.

#4 2010-03-13 11:40:09

MikeL

Phil is the only teacher in Maine that I am aware of. Perhaps some of his Maine students would
be up for gatherings, but I don't have any contacts to share. I'm a Boston area student.

There is some buzz about a possible seminar shaping up in Boston with Kurahashi Sensei and
hopefully Phil too. Maybe in a few months. Well worth the trip if you can make it.

I visited Phil shortly after his return to Portland, and had an experience similar to one described
in another thread here on the forum. I personally am optimistic that he'll be teaching again when
he feels up to it. So watch for news as far as that goes.

- Mike

#5 2010-03-13 12:55:15

Nyogetsu
Kyu Dan Dai Shihan
Website

Hi Maine and Boston Shkuhachi students,

I am touring Kurahashi Sensei through Maine, as usual on his annual Summer trip to the East Coast.
He will be in Maine/Boston from July 12-19, 2010. **(For the complete Tour see Below)
He very much wants to work with Phil's students in both locations as well as see Phil.
I believe though, that this year he may be hosted by Andy Strauss in Boston.