Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-06-06 11:02:05

Toffe

Too breathy sound on the first hole.

All right.. now I've drilled the first hole on my first Shakuhachi.
It's a 64.9 in B. The first hole is D, and it's rather well tuned now.

But I have a problem... When releasing the first hole the sound changes alot.. it becomes more breathy and it's really hard to control the tone. Also it's virtually impossible to get anything else but windy noise when covering half the hole.

The hole is about 9mm wide, is that the problem?
Or is it related to the utaguchi? I didn't manage to make the angle very high at the utaguchi.

Here's a couple of pictures of the utaguchi.. don't laugh, it's my first try. Also the bamboo isn't the best and I didn't make it on a node.
But I have a couple of cheap ebay ones that doesn't have the utaguchi on a node and they sound allright.

http://altoguitar.com/shakuhachi/uta1.jpg
http://altoguitar.com/shakuhachi/uta2.jpg

I'm guessing 9mm is to small for finger holes on this size of shakuhachi.
But what do you think, please help me out.

Last edited by Toffe (2006-06-06 14:24:12)

#2 2006-06-06 15:00:20

edosan
Edomologist

Re: Too breathy sound on the first hole.

I'm not sure if this is what's creating your problem, but from your images, it looks to me as though the bevel angle on your utaguchi is too low (ie, needs to be a bit steeper). The low angle creates a larger radius in the actual blowing edge, and makes the 'depth' of the curve in the utaguchi too great.

A good rule of thumb, I think: If you place a straightedge across the utaguchi, the distance to the bottom of the curve should be around 4mm; looks like yours might be quite a bit deeper. Your airstream is thus too far from the blowing edge to give you good control and focus.

Here are a coupla close-ups:

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/6840/utaguchis0no.jpg