Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-07-16 20:26:44

tranquilidy

First Flute Advice Needed

Hello all,

I am a complete beginner but am very interested in bamboo flutes.  I've spent the past couple of days tinkering around with making bamboo flutes and am having a very difficult time.  I suspect most of my trouble can be traced to not using the right material...much of my bamboo is green (freshly cut) and the rest which is dry is of a slightly larger diameter (1.5 - 2 ")

I'm sure I will continue trying to make a bamboo flute, but I am also interested in purchasing one, which may give me a better idea of what I should be making.  I would like to ask for advice on purchasing a side blown (transverse) shakuhachi or similar style flute, preferably for less than $150.  I have seen many companies selling these and I'm sure the quality varies greatly.  Please advise me on where I should consider spending my hard earned money to find a flute which I will enjoy for many years to come.

Thank You!

Dave

#2 2010-07-17 00:32:04

John

Re: First Flute Advice Needed

At your price point the Shakuhachi Yuu is probably where you want to start, takes a lot of guess work out of it and you have a playable flute that will last a lifetime.

"The more necessary anything appears to my mind, the more certain it is that I only assert a limitation." ~ The Book of Lies, Ch. 45 "Chinese Music"

#3 2010-07-17 08:20:32

edosan
Edomologist

tranquilidy wrote:

I would like to ask for advice on purchasing a side blown (transverse) shakuhachi or similar style flute, preferably for less than $150.

Dave, there is no such advice, as there is no such thing as a side blown shakuhachi, which is an END blown flute.