Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-07-24 00:30:01

nomaD43

Damon in Atlanta

Hello, my name is Damon Atkinson and I am living in the north Atlanta area, in Georgia (USA). I have been living here for a little over six years. Before this I lived my whole life in the Boston area, Massachusetts.
I am currently attending The Art Institute of Atlanta, majoring in Graphic Design, working toward my BFA degree. I also work as a server in a great steakhouse in the area.
I was first drawn towards shakuhachi in the early '90's after hearing a tape titled "Garden of Serenity". The sound of the shakuhachi just completely blew me away and I just had to learn more about it. Unfortunately, with absolutely no background in music, I found it very difficult to find any information about it. I took me about six months to finally locate and purchase a CD that was put out by David Duncavage "The Empty Bell". I not only discovered a great deal of insight into what shakuhachi was, as well as being able to hear some real sui-zen pieces, but most importantly I learned that David was a teacher and he lived/taught only 20 minutes from where I was living.
I studied with David off and on over the next several years and learned a great deal about this incredible instrument and also much about myself that I would not have seen without this experience. I owe a great deal to David for his patience, his expertise, his craftsmanship (I own one of the flutes that he makes), and most importantly his friendship and guidence.