Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-08-07 21:51:44

PSTL

TSU KAZASHI/TSU CHU MERI

I've been practicing without an instructor for two years. There are none here in NE Florida. My primary focus has been on breath control. I can hold notes very well for extended lengths and make numerous transitions quite well. My notes are pretty clean. I practice using an autotuner.

My problem is with "E" or  TSU KAZASHI/TSU CHU MERI. Is there a secret to hitting this note as well as others? I can't seem to transition smoothly to this note. It comes out flat, sharp, or sometimes not at all. Holes 2,3,4,5 are closed, and hole 1 half over (at least this is how I understand it).

Are there any exercises that can help define this note. Maybe a I just need to see it played. Maybe I just need to be the player who doesn't use ""E". wink

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Love the forum.
Phil

#2 2006-08-07 22:18:29

jumbuk

Re: TSU KAZASHI/TSU CHU MERI

I'm working on this one at the moment, mainly in the Kan register.

Tsu chu meri is a combination of "chin down" (a little) and hole partially covered.  There are some good tips on the chin technique versus other methods on Andrew McGregor's website at http://www.japanworldmusic.com/karimeri.htm.

To partially cover the hole, angle your RH ring finger so it "shades" the hole rather than contacting the hole.  Kind of hard to describe, but easy to do once you know what is intended.  I'll try to describe it thus:  first, cover the hole fully as though you were playing Rho, then raise the tip of your RH ring finger by straightening the finger so that it remains in contact with the RH side of the hole, but extends over the hole at an angle of about 15 degrees.