Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-08-08 20:09:15

amokrun

Greetings from Finland.

Greetings. I recently found this forum purely by chance. I have been playing shakuhachi for slightly less than a year now. On some days I don't do it at all and on others I can end up doing it for close to 10 hours. Unfortunately I haven't had the possibility of learning from a teacher, since I'm fairly sure none exist in Finland or anywhere that would be close enough. In fact, I'm not entirely sure how many shakuhachi players live in Finland to begin with. Regardless, I have had this feeling that I might not even enjoy formal training as much as I like simply playing and learning by trying.

Apart from being a shakuhachi novice, I am a computer science student at University of Helsinki. I also occasionally develop custom programs to get some flute oil and food on the table, in that order.

I really don't have a specific reason to play shakuhachi, other than that I enjoy doing it. Since my studies and work are both rather theoretical in nature, I have intentionally tried to not get too theoretical with my shakuhachi studies. I have tried to not study how things work in theoretical sense. In fact, every time when I tried to analytically figure out something, my progress more or less stopped. When I got back to just playing and enjoying the sound, I started to notice that I naturally learned new things. The sudden feeling that hits you when you realize that you just did something new without much effort is what keeps me going in a way.

I will apologise in front for all the questions I'll be asking. There are several things I've wanted to ask from someone, if only just to confirm that what I learned by intuition is more or less correct.