Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-08-15 19:44:03

Larry

What to practice??

I know this topic has come up before, but I want to revisit it a little.  I've been playing for about 2 1/2 years now, taking lessons once or twice a month with an excellent teacher(s).  Lately I feel like I've hit a wall.  I blow Ro, practice scales and runs, and work on several pieces, but I don't feel like I'm going anywhere.  When I first started playing, the improvements were dramatic.  Wow, I can hold a note for 10 seconds, or wow, that ro sounded sweet!  Now, I feel like I'm not improving much at all, or at least I'm not noticing it as much.  What advice do you proffesionals offer for someone in my situation or who feels this way?  What should I be practicing at this point?

Last edited by Larry (2006-08-15 19:45:09)

#2 2006-08-15 23:05:07

Daniel Ryudo
Shihan/Kinko Ryu

Re: What to practice??