Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2006-10-05 17:13:11

amokrun

Can helping be harmful?

As I have mentioned before, I am a beginner with roughly a year of experience. I can play most otsu/kan notes with confidence and I also occasionally play some pieces with moderate success. I have had no teacher so far, although I'm getting some lessons in a few weeks.

Keeping that background in mind, I have a small problem. A friend of mine has gotten somewhat interested in shakuhachi. She has musical background but hasn't played any similar instruments before. Whenever she visits me, she wants to try to play with my shakuhachi. So far she has had maybe an hour or two of practice in total, divided into smaller sessions of maybe 10-15 minutes each. She can make a sound, although not consistently.

The problem is, I'm by no means qualified to teach anyone anything when it comes to shakuhachi. Although I love to help, I'm afraid that I may in fact explain some things wrong. Last thing I want to do is to propagate some flaw in my own technique without realizing it.

Do you think it's a good idea for me to help her as much as I can with my current skill level? Teachers are somewhat hard to come by around here and besides, she isn't really addicted enough yet to seek for one in any case. The way I see it, it's either my possibly flawed hints or nothing at all for her at this point.

Furthermore, if you think that it's fine to help someone get started, what kind of things should I talk about at first? So far I've not talked about specific techniques at all and have instead focused on the fundamental concepts like breathing properly as well as explained some mistakes I made early on and how to avoid those.

Any advice would be most welcome.

#2 2006-10-05 20:53:29

geni
Performer & Teacher
Website

Re: Can helping be harmful?

I would say..