Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2005-11-13 08:36:38

bluespiderweb

Inline or Offset holes on long flutes?

I just received a 2.4 Earth Shakuhachi from Perry Yung, and it is a very nice flute.  I'm getting used to it, since I am a beginner, and never played anything longer than a 1.8 before (and only briefly). 

What seems to be one problem, is getting used to offset holes, especially since I have a good hand spread, and think I would be fine with inline holes.  I've been playing Low Irish whistles, and flute, and have come to learn to play without using my fingertips for covering the holes, which they refer to as "piper's grip", a technique used also on bagpipes.

Has anyone else found the inline holes to be more comfortable on some of the longer flutes?

I know you can get used to anything, pretty much, if given time with it, but it does seem to me to cause more hand stress and muscle fatigue (for me) than if the holes were not offset.  On the 2.4 it is an easy reach for me.  Maybe something with quite a bit more spread would be worth offsetting the holes, at least for my hands.  And, I know this is an individual thing-not everyone is built the same, or has the same hand mechanics.

Anyone else have any similar experience with this?

Be well,  Barry

#2 2005-11-13 10:10:10

edosan
Edomologist

Re: Inline or Offset holes on long flutes?

Barry,

My 2.5 cents:

Bearing in mind that I can't speak to your specific situation, it's been my experience, in my own playing and in observing others', that a 2.4 is usually the 'limit' in length where holes are offset--e.g. most 2.4 flutes have offset holes, most shorter flutes have inline holes.

This is not carved in stone, of course; I have a 2.1 by Perry that has offset holes, since he often offsets holes if it 'feels right' to him, and the flute was already finished before I purchased it from him.