Mujitsu and Tairaku's Shakuhachi BBQ

World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2007-01-28 09:29:06

Austroshak

How to achieve Levels outside of Japan?

Hi forum!

I'm an german shakuhachi student since 1,5 years. Fortunatly I have a good teacher which I see every month for instructions.
Practicing every day 1 - 2 hours I think I'm making a good progress.
However I'm asking myself how my path with the shakuhachi should be.
To keeping the motivation on a high level I want to go through the known levels (shoden, chuden, etc.). My teacher means I shouldn't look to much at these levels and it won't be possible without moving to japan for at least one year - he's right for sure - however, I'm afraid of loosing motivation to push my shakuhachi study to higher levels.

So my question is:
How and where can I make the "certificates of completion"?
I can't go to japan or elsewhere for example one year. However I could travel somewhere for 2 or 3 weeks to make one exam.
So is there anything like a preparation program over the internet with a short completion test for each level? But the test has to done within 2 - 3 weeks.

Thank you for your help - sorry for the broken english - I hope you can read what I mean ;-)

All the best.

#2 2007-01-28 10:12:25

Josh
PhD
Website

Re: How to achieve Levels outside of Japan?

Hi,
  What style of shakuhachi do you play? The Tozan Ryu has a formal testing system that may allow you to just show up for the jun-shihan tests and other levels. The Australian Shakuhachi Association also offers certificates, but I have a feeling most places will only allow you to test if you have studied under one of their teachers and/or are familiar with their school's style.
Does your teacher think you are not ready to test yet or does he not have the power to grant you a level test?