World Shakuhachi Discussion / Go to Live Shakuhachi Chat

You are not logged in.

Tube of delight!

#1 2010-04-27 06:28:36

Tairaku 太楽
Administrator/Performer
Website

Grandma sang Minyo

We have had a lot of Japanese working for us at Chado. None of them recognize more than 4 or 5 of the Minyo pieces and one of them is "Auld Lang Syne" which they think is Japanese. The others are "Sakura" "Soran Bushi", "Kojo no Tsuki" and "Aka Tombo".

Today a young Japanese chef came into the teahouse so I started playing from the green book and he knew ALL of the songs and was singing along with them. I told him most Japanese only know that handful of songs and that I was impressed that he knew all of the Minyo. His wife (Aussie) revealed the reason, "Probably because he was raised by his grandmother."

'Progress means simplifying, not complicating' : Bruno Munari

http://www.myspace.com/tairakubrianritchie

#2 2010-04-27 10:10:08

madoherty

Re: Grandma sang Minyo

Very interesting.

I wouldn't recognize a lot of American (United Statian) folk music either most likely... but I bet I know more than 4 songs.

#3 2010-04-27 10:30:03

radi0gnome
Website

madoherty wrote:

Very interesting.

I wouldn't recognize a lot of American (United Statian) folk music either most likely... but I bet I know more than 4 songs.

OK, real fast... 1) Tis a gift to be simple 2) Micheal row your boat ashore 3) ...

Forget real fast, that's all I got!

"Now birds record new harmonie, And trees do whistle melodies;
Now everything that nature breeds, Doth clad itself in pleasant weeds."
~ Thomas Watson - England's Helicon ca 1580

#4 2010-04-27 18:06:06

Karmajampa
Website

I frequently have Japanesre people coming through my gallery, I mention my interest in Shakuhachi. Virtually all of them have never seen or heard 'live' Shakuhachi playing.

One woman, when shown a Shakuhachi, would not touch it, she was almost in fear of breaking some mystique regarding it.